Having Stories At Heart

paulwiltshireblog

“One of my frustrations is that we tell the same stories over and over again, when we should be looking for more stories because there are so many out there.”

This quote, from the organiser of an exhibition in Bath about 18th century life, struck a real chord with me when I saw it in the Chronicle’s Weekend magazine.

She was talking about history – but those words carry a telling message for the news industry right now.

When I look at local newspapers, both my own company’s and others, I am rarely surprised.
The material that is turned into page leads can be familiar fare: rows over new housing developments or planning blueprints, people riding from one end of the country to another for good causes, the minutiae of council or NHS funding battles, complaints about potholes or pavements, and people putting a brave face on rain-hit summer festivals.

View original post 567 more words

