ADVENTURES OF A LABOR NURSE

large

The last day I worked, I admitted a patient in early labor and the first thing she asked me was when her doctor would be there.  In my head, I laughed.  I had not seen her doctor all day, even though I thought they would make rounds in the morning.  I knew there was a laundry list of reasons why they had probably not made it in by that afternoon: they had lucked out, and not a single one of their patients had delivered that morning, which would have forced them to come in.  They had been unlucky before seven a.m., and had three deliveries in the middle of the night, including a STAT section (it was their turn to be on call).  Their daughter had called the unit two separate times asking if we had seen them, because they were waiting at practice to be picked up.  And medical records had called…

View original post 1,244 more words

